Image

Oh Yeah, @rickygervais? Well, I Won’t See Your Movies Anymore

Tweet from @rickygervais

 

I am a fan of this man's work on the big and small screen.

I love both the US & UK versions of 'The Office.' I love his tiny roles in the 'Night at the Museum' movies. And even though it has a slightly anti-Christian message, I love 'The Invention of Lying.' In fact, I ink that movie was brilliant.

But I'm growing tired of his distinctly negative view of Christianity.

Yeah, much of Christianity has and continues to treat atheists – such as he is – like less than dirt. It's laughable how their arguments against atheists can so easily be made about them. I often find myself agreeing with many of the quips and retorts atheists make against my Christian brethren.

However, Ricky Gervais has used up all the good will I'm willing to give.

One of his latest rants was the gem pictured above.

I'm guessing he's avoided Satanists because of the sheer lack of them. I would also venture to guess that there might just be more Pentecostal, Lesbian UCC members (yeah, that's a thing) than there are Satanists.

Additionally, I've never heard Ricky speak an ill word against Satan.

It could exist, but it's the “Unicorn that farts glitter” of Ricky Gervais tweets.

The problem with Ricky Gervais – and others like Hitchens (God rest him) and Bill Maher – is the very large and largely ignorant brush with which they paint people of all faiths. That's the point where their idea of “tolerance” looks exactly like the intolerance they purportedly hate so very much.

I won't say I'll never see another one of his movies or TV shows. However, it is safe to say I won't be seeking out anything by him.

Thanks for reading.

 

8 comments on “Oh Yeah, @rickygervais? Well, I Won’t See Your Movies Anymore

  1. NotAScientist
    May 21, 2013 at 9:34 AM #

    I think part of the problem is that so many different kinds of people call themselves Christian. So if I badmouth Christians, and the things I say don’t apply to you, then I wasn’t talking about you. I was talking about another group of people that also call themselves Christians.

    • Chris Tiedeman
      May 21, 2013 at 9:53 AM #

      Agreed.

      The problem with ppl like Gervais & Maher is that they don’t make distinctions. If you claim any faith in a deity, you’re worshipping the “spaghetti monster in the sky.” It comes off as undiscerning hate. There’s where my problem with them lies.

      • NotAScientist
        May 21, 2013 at 10:01 AM #

        “is that they don’t make distinctions.”

        I think the issue is that there goal is to be at least somewhat funny. You may disagree, but that is one of their goals. And spending time prefacing their comments/jokes with distinction ruins any potential funny.

      • Chris Tiedeman
        May 22, 2013 at 10:23 AM #

        I like how we can disagree, and still be civil. A rarity in our culture, unfortunately.

        I don’t think they could or should waste their time prefacing their jokes. However, their commentary/satire takes an unmistakeable turn towards seriousness when they speak about religion (particularly Christianity). I don’t think Christianity is a persecuted majority. I definitely think far too many Christians make ignorant and hateful replies to Gervais and Maher on social media. The problem with their religious commentary is they fail to make distinctions when criticizing Christians.

        The first amendment rights to free speech doesn’t protect you from criticism of that speech.

      • Austin 3:16
        May 25, 2013 at 9:10 PM #

        “they fail to make distinctions when criticizing Christians”

        Isn’t this complaint bordering on the “real Scotsman” fallacy though?

  2. datatheist
    May 22, 2013 at 7:52 AM #

    Your comment about there not being many Satanists is a bit untrue. Yes, there are not as many as Christians but I personally know a number of Satanists and not once have any of them ever insulted me about not believing in the devil. However I have been insulted numerous times in by angry Christians when I tell them I am an Atheist. My Satanist friends accept my Atheism and we get on perfectly fine but I have lost friends in the past (Christian) who refused to talk to me after I ‘came out as an Atheist’.

    • Chris Tiedeman
      May 22, 2013 at 10:36 AM #

      You’re right. It wasn’t accurate, but hyperbolic – with the intent of being humorous. It was at Satanist’s expense, but I think there are too few “a rabbi, a priest and a satanist walk into a bar” jokes.

      I don’t want to take on the burden of apologizing for the ignorance of all my brethren, but I think atheists have gotten a bad rap – and my sisters and brothers have been uncharitable towards this group. While this is no excuse, people like Gervais, Maher and Hitchens make their blanket judgements on all Christians in order to get a rise out of some of them. It’s indiscriminate and hateful.

      Christians are responsible for their own actions. That’s what our faith teaches. However, I think you and others like you may be suffering – in part – because of people like them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Notes From The Pastor’s Office #22 – “Redeemed Atheists?” | Notes from the Pastor's Office - May 24, 2013

    […] Link to my Gervais post. […]

Leave a comment