Apprved for Commissioning – It’s Finally Happening

image

The day has finally arrived.  After nearly 10 years of schooling – on top of serving in the pulpit and raising a family with the invaluable support of my wonderful wife, Emily – the Board of Ordained Ministry of the Indiana Conference has approved me for comissioning as a candidate for ordained ministry.

There is really no overstating how wonderful it feels to have made it to this point.

At Annual Conference this summer, I will officially begin the final step in the process to becoming an elder in the United Methodist Church.

The United Methodist Church is where I find my spiritual home.  The first time I took communion at the Ligonier United Methodist Church, I had my “Aldersgate Experience” – a reference to John Wesley’s experience where he felt his heart “strangely warmed” to the saving knowledge of the gospel – and knew this is where I would find my spiritual home. To be ordained as a clergy in this church is such a humbling and exciting prospect.

I certainly had my expectations of what the interview process would be.  There are so many stories you are told  in the lead up to that moment.  It is an intimidating scenario into which to be thrust.  However, my interview was actually an enjoyable experience.  I promised my interview team I would “talk up” just how wrong some of the lore surrounding this process is.

So, I’m here. By the grace of God – a thing of special import for us Methodists – I am here.

My journey isn’t over.  Comissioning begins a three year process, by which one tested, educated, and formed.  There will be much learning and growing, and I would covet your prayers during this time.

I must say thank you to all of you who have helped make me who I am today.

Thank you.

I invite you to join me on this journey. I don’t yet know what that means, but watch this space to find out.

Leave a Reply

