Image

Possibly One of My Last @CopelandNetwork, @UnitedSeminary Posts

Kenneth & Gloria Copeland

For reasons I won't presently divulge, this may be one of my last posts on the relationship between Kenneth Copeland Ministries and United Theological Seminary.

I guess I must admit to not knowing the whole story of the relationship between UTS and KCM. I don't know if I've admitted that before, but I'm doing it now.

I am sure I've expressed a desire to know more about it. In fact, most UTS alumni I know have also expressed concern – to varying and elevated degrees.

I recently heard a concern expressed by a UTS faculty member. Essentially, those of us who were expressing concern didn't have the whole story. Additionally, the argument was made that just because someone is invited to speak, doesn't mean the school or faculty necessarily endorses said person or their beliefs.

Think Ahmadinejad being invited to speak at Columbia University.

I will gladly grant that. In fact, I want to state that I will make retractions of any material I have misreported – since I may not have all the facts.

That being said, we do know some things (all of which I've reported before):

*UTS began it's academic partnership with KCM in 2010.

*UTS hosted Kenneth Copeland to speak in Dayton, OH.

*A UTS official claimed his visit generated $20,000 for the school.

*As recently as 2009, KCM had been under investigation for financial practices – and we all know that's not the first time that's happened.

*I'm not sure if this means anything, but a UTS board member is a former employee of and son-in-law to Copeland. (I'm not alleging any impropriety by mentioning that, I just think it's relevant somehow)

Mitigating these circumsances is the fact that one UTS faculty member explained to me that the relationship between UTS and KCM was a strictly an academic one. KCM has an extenxive digital ministry, and UTS was going to take advantage of the opportunity to have their students learn from some of the best.

However, the above list of known facts is still disconcerting. It is fine to say that Kenneth Copeland doesn't represent the views of all faculty and staff, but the partnership with his organization appears to be an endorsement of them. Copeland's actual speaking engagement in Dayton is just more fodder for those experssing concerns.

Here's my question: Why doesn't UTS address the concerns it knows it's students and alumni have?

I've seen press releases from UTS before, and their subject matter isn't as important as this appears to be. They could use the tools at their disposal and record a video message, addressing concerns and answering questions – telling us all why we shouldn't be so concerned about this relationship.

Heck, I'll even come to interview anyone who would like to help set the record straight. I like to stir the pot, but I also pride myself on being fair.

Well, that's it for now – when it comes to UTS and KCM, at least.

My previous Copeland posts are here and here.

 

2 comments on “Possibly One of My Last @CopelandNetwork, @UnitedSeminary Posts

  1. Jeff Allen
    August 22, 2013 at 6:35 PM #

    Their refusal to answer you, reminds me of how you’ve run from me. It’s hard to defend the indefensible.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Questions Answered: @utsdoc Talks @UnitedSeminary & @CopelandNetwork | Notes from the Pastor's Office - August 23, 2013

    […] My last post on the nature of the relationship between United Theological Seminary and Kenneth Copeland Ministries garnered a quick response from Dr. David Watson, Academic Dean at UTS. […]

Leave a Reply

