Image

United Knows What You Think of Them – @unitedseminary

I wish this wasn't the topic for my first post in a while, but here it goes.

I also haven't posted about United Theological Seminary for a while, but I can't help this one.

I haven't ever heard an official from United speak about Kenneth Copeland (I speak about him here) and their recent turn towards conservatism – until this morning.

I overheard a conversation held in the common area of UTS this morning. I can't recall the entire conversation, but here are the highlights.

*During his D.Min visit last year, Kenneth Copeland helped raise $20,000 for the school.

*This official didn't see why Copeland's son-in-law shouldn't have been brought onto the board of the school. (Dr. Swisher is a UTS grad and works for Kenneth Copeland Ministries)

*This official was unconcerned with the view that everyone thinks UTS is taking a turn towards conservatism.

I share this with you because it is the first time I've heard a UTS official speak candidly about things like Copeland and the school's institutional changes over the last few years.

Admittedly, I do not know in what context these comments were being made, but I heard them – and decided to report them to you.

So, there's that.

 

4 comments on “United Knows What You Think of Them – @unitedseminary

  1. Babs
    April 30, 2013 at 2:41 PM #

    Leave it to the preacher types to talk loud enough that they can be overheard.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Did @UnitedSeminary Read This Before They Partnered With @CopelandNetwork? | Notes from the Pastor's Office - August 5, 2013

    […] problem I have – which I've covered before – is with the school's institutional […]

  2. Possibly One of My Last @CopelandNetwork, @UnitedSeminary Posts | Notes from the Pastor's Office - August 22, 2013

    […] My previous Copeland posts are here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

