Image

SERMON FODDER: Why do we call it “Easter?”

 

I haven't done one of these in a while. This NFTPO feature is when I share a theological thought or sermon preview that's been rolling around my noggin. I got the information for this from here.

Here's a preview of my sermon for Sunday:

Why is it called “Easter,” anyway?

Anyone know?

Well, as far as I could tell, it has to do with a German goddess. Specifically, it has to do with the Teutonic goddess of fertility and spring. Her name was “Eostra.” It is from her name that we get the name for the female hormone, “estrogen.” Well, once Constantine and the church decided to run roughshod over the indigenous people and religions of Europe, they found out about the spring goddess and assimilated the tradition into the Christian celebration of the Resurrection.

Easter eggs are actually given to us from Eostra. Since she is the goddess of fertility, the eggs came to us from her as a sign of fertility. What they still have to do with the Christian celebration of the Resurrection is beyond me?

Also beyond me, is why Cadbury Creme Eggs have to be so darned sweet. Seriously, I feel as if I'm going into a diabetic coma each time a bite into one. It hasn't stopped me from biting into them, but still…

 

See you on Sunday!

 

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SERMON FODDER: Why do we call it �Easter?� | Notes from the … | Pastor Leaders - March 28, 2013

    […] Pastor Leaders Source- Google Blogs […]

Leave a Reply

