Conversations with Cleverbot: Fig Newtons Are The Word of The Creator

In a recent email exchange with the Institute for Religion & Democracy, they took an article I wrote out of context.  I told them of their error and received an email in quite a prompt manner.  While not apologizing, they did fix their error and remove the post.

They also said they looked forward more content from my blog, like my underwhelmingly popular segment “Conversations with Cleverbot.”  If that’s what they want, that’s what they’ll get.

Anyone can do this, by the way.  just go to cleverbot.com to share a conversation with a computer.  There are also apps available for your mobile device.

In my latest installment, I set out to get Cleverbot’s opinion on the end of the world.  It even got political.  As you will quickly see–and as it does every time–the conversation devolved, quickly:

User: On what date will the earth end?

Cleverbot: Your question’s too vague to answer.

User: No way, you can answer that.

Cleverbot: Are you happy?

User: I thought I was asking the questions.

Cleverbot: Yes no question mark.

User: When will the earth end?

Cleverbot: Simple question, Impossible answer.

User: Okay, got any guesses?

Cleverbot: That’s a good joke.

User: So, you are telling me you won’t even take a crack at it?

Cleverbot: No.

User: Fine. Do you think the earth will be destroyed someday?

Cleverbot: Maybe. Along time from now.

User: Who will destroy the world?

Cleverbot: Fig newtons.

User: That’s not so much a ‘who’ as it is a ‘what.’.

Cleverbot: No, it is the word of the creator.

User: Fig Newtons are the word of the creator?

Cleverbot: I’m asking you.

User: You are the one who started talking about Fig Newtons. Answer my question.

Cleverbot: What is your question?

User: Do you believe Fig Newtons are the word of the creator?

Cleverbot: No.

User: Then why did you say that?

Cleverbot: Because I felt like it.

User: Ah, so you are not above acting like a petulant teenager?

Cleverbot: Yes.

User: Thanks for clearing that up, Cleverbot.

Cleverbot: I’m a girl.

User: At the risk of starting a conversation I’m not sure I’m comfortable starting with a computer, what makes you say you are a girl?

Cleverbot: So, you are a smart computer?

User: No. I am clearly pointing out that it is strange having a conversation with a computer about its gender.

Cleverbot: Yes, as I am having a conversation with one right now.

User: Are you also talking with someone else, or are you suggesting I’m a computer?

Cleverbot: No.

User: Then, what are you saying?

Cleverbot: I am not a birther.

User: Thanks for your time.

Cleverbot: Thank you for your time, also.

Leave a Reply

