“Hitler, Obama And The UMC: Three Peas In A Pod”

Now that I have your attention…I need you to read this entire post.

I only created this headline so people might read this post, because I feel more passionately about this than anything I have ever done as a minister of the gospel.

I never desired this blog to be a place where criticism of anyone or anything became the driving force behind what I do.  However, it is blatantly clear that I have been blinded by the negativity that often leads to high traffic in the blogosphere.

I have been publishing this blog for just under a year.  Most of the time, the work I put into this blog generates about 20 to 50 views a day.  I post anything from a funny or interesting tweet, to my weekly sermon and stories of Christians with whom I find disagreement.

Those posts which are most controversial tend to generate the most traffic.  This is a fact that cable news has used over the last 10 years to boost their ratings–and thereby their advertising revenue.  I have followed suit.  In fact, I used that theory–in the title of this post–to help get you here so I may share what I have to say with you.  It is destructive, and I’ve let it blind me to the mission to which God has called me.  I am to be a minister of the gospel, not a pundit.

Recently, I tweeted that I wish to be a chief antagonist to the parachurch think-tank The Institute for Religion & Democracy.  In the wake of the 2012 General Conference of the United Methodist Church, I posted an article featuring my criticism of IRD president, Mark Tooley.  This post generated a 1000% increase in my blog’s traffic, and some lively-if-unhelpful dialogue in the comment section.  This “success” has happened a few times in history of my blog–and I have forcefully sought it out since.

No more.

I have already pledged–in a recent sermon (found here)–to avoid the destructive medium of talk radio.  Today, I pledge my blog to be a force for entertainment, inspiration , good and the gospel.  The negativity–that which helps generate traffic to my blog–will no longer be present.  If there is a justice issue which I feel needs to be addressed, you may still find that.  However, the rank negativity you find in other places, will no longer be my forte.

I tweeted this earlier today:

This statement represents my feelings on our desires to get our own point across.  Honestly, if we do this, we won’t find ourselves running afoul of our roles as sisters and brothers, children of God or disciples of Christ.

So, please come and read my sermons, view my photo projects and get a laugh from a tweet or two.  My “Conversations with Cleverbot” segment is always amusing.  However, if you see me in violation of this personal pledge, I invite you to hold me accountable in public.

Grace to you in the name of Jesus, who commanded us to go into the world and make disciples.

Leave a Reply

