QUICK UPDATE: I Haven’t Forgotten About My ‘Monumental’ Stuff

In the run-up to the release of the latest Kirk Cameron joint Monumental, I provided you with information and insight.  After seeing it in the theatre, I have much more to offer.

I do need to start off with this.  I had a great time.  The movie was entertaining and beautiful to look at.  The art direction and set design was superb.  Kirk documents his travels by hammering nails into this highly contrasted wall–which is the globe over the Atlantic–and suspending copper wire between them.  And, while gratuitous, the shots of the Monument to the Forefathers are pretty amazing.

However, since that night, I experienced an allergic reaction to something that sent me to medical professionals 4 times–not to mention the fact that I still have church and school responsibilities to tend to.  In short, I have been too busy to possibly get to all the debunking that has to be done for this movie.

I will offer you a little something.  It appears that Kirk is abandoning his roots in Rapture theology for the more lucrative waters of Christian nationalism–the same kind that has enveloped evangelicalism over the past 3o years.  I am paraphrasing here, but Kirk said something to the effect of “I don’t just want this to be a one night thing, I want it to become a movement.”  This echoes voices from the Christian nationalist mainstream–including Alveda King, Glenn Beck and David Barton (all of whom made cameos in the movie and live theatre event).

And the icing on the cake?  The Heritage Foundation’s new “documentary”–Powering America–was the featured sponsor of this event.  This proves that this movie is nothing more than an attempt to further an idea and an ideology–not solve any problems or effect meaningful, positive change.

Probably, I will take the occasion for the movie’s release on DVD–expected this summer–to revisit my criticism of this movie.

On a personal note, I think I need to say a word to those of you who might think I am coming at this with some axe to grind.  Not true.  I hold a degree from a major university in the field of history.  As a pastor, much of my work has me revisit the field of history quite often.  I am fascinated by and have a great deal of respect for the field of history.  When I see history used for the purposes of trying to undergird an ideology–instead of educating and entertaining–I feel something needs to be said.  This movie takes liberties with the facts.

David Barton holds quite a large, privately-owned historical treasure trove.  He also takes those things and uses them in an attempt to skew the overwhelmingly consensus views on historical matters.  I remember thinking that night, “you can own the facts and still not know the truth.”  That’s about what I thought of Monumental.

One comment on “QUICK UPDATE: I Haven’t Forgotten About My ‘Monumental’ Stuff

  1. I just couldn’t go away your site prior to suggesting that I actually loved the usual information a person provide for your visitors? Is gonna be back ceaselessly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

Leave a Reply

