My First Product Review: Life Application Study Bible #iPad App from @TyndaleHouse

I love my iPad–alot.  It’s like an obsession.  A bad one.  I use it for work, school, entertainment and life organization.  As a pastor, the iPad is incredibly helpful for any number of things.  Not necessary, but extremely helpful.  Instead of hauling my Bible and sermon notes to the pulpit, I bring one thing–my iPad.

While this is a first-world problem, the hauling around of a bulky, (synthetic) leather-bound can be cumbersome.  Besides, you risk damaging that book for which you paid upwards of $50 to $100 dollars.  While people have been doing without much problem–since Gutenberg first got his hands dirty–modernity offers us the opportunity to improve on certain, everyday accoutrements.

I used to think that Olive Tree Bible Software had ruined me on other Bible apps as my main source of study and reading of the Bible–on my iPad (also read “any other way to read the Bible”).  That was before I got my hands on the Life Application Study Bible App from Tyndale House Publishers.  While I will always keep both (what kind of pastor would I be if I didn’t have multiple versions of the same thing), Tyndale House’s offering is quickly distinguishing itself from the competitors.  Here are my thoughts (so far):

Pros

The app just looks slick.  It is aesthetically pleasing to look at.  You can change the colors to match your preferences and adjust the font to match your comfort level.  I prefer the blue color, because I find it soothing.

As for your interaction with the app, you start off by finding the scripture you want by tapping the lower-right hand corner to produce a scroll wheel.  It takes some getting used to, but it definitely sets itself apart from other, more traditional search features.

The standard content that comes with the purchase of the app is pretty good for an e-Bible.  Footnotes are plentiful and keep up with your scrolling through the text.  There is an “extras” bar that you can tap to access a plethora of additional content.  This includes the obligatory maps, introductions, timelines, statistics, themes and profiles of important characters.  These are all good for assisting in sermon prep or fulfilling your unquenched thirst for knowledge.

The journaling and highlighting features are also easy to use and very helpful.

Cons

I am currently a student and a pastor.  This means I prefer and/or have to have no less than 5 different versions of the Bible.  Currently, the LASB app only offers the NLT, NIV, KJV and NKJV.  This is insufficient.  So, for now, I have to flip back and forth between the LASB and Olive Tree apps to get all the information I want/need.  Like I said before…first world problems.

As I am a tech junkie, I prefer any technology I interact with to do what I tell it to, when I tell it to do it.  There are only a couple of times when this app doesn’t live up to my expectations.  When you first open the app, it takes some time to load.  Not a bunch of time, only long enough for someone as impatient as me to say “come on.”  And typically, when I say that, it opens and is ready to use.  The other time is when I go from searching the store to reading mode.  Again, not long by any stretch, but enough for me to notice.

Conclusion

The Life Application Study Bible iPad app is one I would highly recommend.  When they offer more translations–such as the NRSV–it may very well become the only app I use.

Find it here.

8 comments on “My First Product Review: Life Application Study Bible #iPad App from @TyndaleHouse

  1. Jonathan Schmanke
    March 22, 2012 at 8:49 AM #

    Awesome when it worked on my iPad. After I updated to OS 5 all the links in the app stopped working, tried reinstalling still no luck

  2. Brandon
    May 4, 2012 at 5:42 AM #

    “Besides, you risk damaging that book for which you paid upwards of $50 to $100 dollars.”

    What did you get your iPad for, a toothy grin?

    – A fellow iPad preacher 😉

  3. D
    September 6, 2012 at 6:43 PM #

    Overall good, awsome, excellant CONTENT. Tyndale commentary the best and unbisased. However the app software needs major improvement. You can’t reset your password. Login problems. And even download of new books problems with pending icon being stuck.

  4. Bobbi brown
    September 10, 2012 at 12:48 AM #

    I purchased the app July 7,2012. It worked for a couple of weeks, then it upgraded automatically and has never worked since. I have sent several emails asking for support..finally I had my charge disputed on my CC. The app still doesn’t work, and now my apple I’d has been disabled. I find this very poor customer service in every aspect.

  5. Kevin O'Brien
    November 10, 2012 at 6:34 PM #

    I have a terrible time with the search feature…maybe I just don’t get the simplicity of it, but every time search for a specific scripture, it produces zero results. What am I doing wrong?

  6. Sara
    January 3, 2013 at 10:13 PM #

    How do u navigate large section like chapters or a book.

  7. Larry De Palma
    January 16, 2013 at 1:48 PM #

    Sometimes you just have to have the words on paper and be able to just ‘flip through’. What’s bad about randomly opening a book and reading?

    • Chris Tiedeman
      January 16, 2013 at 1:50 PM #

      Absolutely nothing. And, at times, I prefer it. However, the convenience of having all your resources in one package is desirable for many clergy.

Leave a Reply

