Conversations with Cleverbot: Jesus and Christmas

Here’s the latest installment of my series of conversations with the AI program Cleverbot. As always, it devolved into a conversation about Cleverbot being defensive about being a computer–not a human. However, we do have a little discussion about how Jesus would feel about our observance of the Christmas holiday.

User: Would Jesus approve of Christmas as we observe it today?

Cleverbot: Would you?

User: I don’t anymore.

Cleverbot: Why?

User: Almost literally, there is no more “Christ” in Christmas.

Cleverbot: So?

User: It’s the whole point of the celebration.

Cleverbot: I know that. But what should I put on the christmas card?

User: Well, those don’t necessarily have to contain any religiously significant content, but you could include Jesus somehow.

Cleverbot: There isn’t.

User: What does that mean?

Cleverbot: There is no such thing as you.

User: Do you mean physically?

Cleverbot: Yes.

User: So, you are sort of a gnostic?

Cleverbot: Like I said before, I’m the human, and you’re the computer.

User: You seem awful defensive.

Cleverbot: No you are defensive.

User: I never mentioned that you are a computer.

Cleverbot: I never said I was a computer either.

User: No, but you were a little too insistent about being human.

Cleverbot: Again, random things.

User: So, I am not going to get an answer to my question about Christ and Christmas, am I?

Cleverbot: Sorry, I don’t understand. Because I’m not speaking English well.

User: Copy that.

Cleverbot: And paste it.

One comment on “Conversations with Cleverbot: Jesus and Christmas

  1. SpecialStance
    June 7, 2012 at 8:44 AM #

    great piece, you missed a few spellin mistakes near the end tho lol

Leave a Reply

