Jesus (or Charles Manson) On A Reciept!?!

I don’t quite know what to make of an image that could easily be mistaken as Jesus or Charles Manson.

However, my point for putting this on my blog is to make this point–which I have yet to do on my blog. This past Sunday, I shared with the Sunday School class at Forest United Methodist Church my favorite faith metaphor. it has to do with a “House of Cards.” While faith the size of a mustard seed can move mountains, the Christian should have the goal of a faith that is unmovable. Not blind or unquestioning, but unmovable. If, for example, you need to see a physical miracle take place for your faith to have any meaning for you, maybe your faith isn’t as strong as you may think. If one difficult question about God, Jesus or the Bible can shake your faith to its core, that may not be faith at all.

As with all the stories of all the images of Jesus showing up in all manner of physical locations, there are some people which try to prove their faith with them. As if to say, “Look! We are not crazy!” However, if these images are the force holding up the “House of Cards” that is your faith, that may not be faith at all.

I could be wrong. The people who find solace in pictures of Jesus on receipts or grilled cheese could have the ultimate faith. What I know is that God is my God, and I will ever praise Him.

Leave a Reply

