Why Christians Should Be Reading The Religion Section of The Huffington Post

I know there are plenty of my sisters and brothers out there who would just as soon read The Enquirer than The Huffington Post. There are plenty of reasons for which I understand this happens. However, when we decide to read something because it doesn’t support our own ideology, we may end up missing something that is ultimately good for us.

That is why I suggest to everyone I can that they read the Religion section of The Huffington Post. It is, by far, one of the most comprehensive religious news sources available anywhere. It doesn’t always cover Christianity. In fact, a majority of their content isn’t directly Christianity related. For the sake of apologetics and orthodox theology, I believe reading a wide variety of news having to do with a wide variety of religious traditions is important for the Christian who is serious about their faith.

You will often hear me quote or cover anything having to do with Dietrich Bonhoeffer. On this subject, he would agree with me. The only reason he never met with the Dali Lama during his life was that he became a martyr before he got the chance. He believed in an ecumenical approach to the practice of religion and faith.

I believe Dietrich Bonhoeffer, were he alive today, would read The Huffington Post. I think you should, too

Leave a Reply

